If Facebook Groups are your thing, join ours and let's make it as amazing and friendly as our forums!

Click here for HSfB's Facebook Group Image

Event Tree Analysis questions

Discuss all things health and safety.

Moderator: Moderators

goju

Event Tree Analysis questions

Post by goju »

Hi,

I have a nebosh diploma question on event tree anaylsis to answer.

Can someone point me in the right direction for step by step guide. (Any examples)

I have the RMS book for the diploma, but would like more detail.

Any help appricated.

Many thanks
Gladiator
My Name is Maximus Decimus Meridius
My Name is Maximus Decimus Meridius

Re: Event Tree Analysis questions

Post by Gladiator »

Event tree often referred to as 'Fault tree' analysis is a simple (ish) tool to reactively examine what led to a particular set of circumstances; possibly incident related or accident/fatality. The Police and Insurers regularly use this formula when investigating RTA's, i.e. what happened where and to whom and why?

Successful completion of the tree will show you the underling causes, intermediate and immediate causation factors. Not the tool that was once feared, it is in actual fact quite a simplistic process that one undertakes frequently on a dynamic basis (without realising it)!

There is some limited information available on the www, but with all research undertaken in this manner, one must be certain it is up to date (which the www is not as a generalism), it is therefore little more than a method of illustrating and analysing the relationships between a sequence of outcomes that may arise over time, and in the main you will see more referring to 'fault' than 'event' as in the majority of cases it is teh 'fault' that dictates the need to pride analysis of any given situation. Some say 'event' some say 'fault' and many will try to defend the need for both; in this posters experience they are indeed extremely similar in the methodolgy utilised in their production.

G
Chris Baker