Writing policies to ISO 45001 standard

Discuss management systems in here, including - HS(G)65; ISO 45001; ISO 45003; ISO 14001

Moderator: Moderators

MrsPeacockinthestudy
Student
Student
Industry Sector: Public Sector

Writing policies to ISO 45001 standard

Post by MrsPeacockinthestudy »

Good afternoon everyone, hope you are all staying well and managing in the current situation!

As all on-site activities have ceased for us at the moment, I have been tasked with creating new H&S policies (I'm new in post, and this is an organization that doesn't have any written policies at the moment besides a H&S policy statement). My boss is determined to apply for ISO 45001 status within the next two years (realistically I can't see that happening but this is the target), so has told me to write all our policies in the ISO 45001 'format'.

I've been given a template to use by my boss with the 45001 headings - e.g. Risk identification, Risk Control, Procurement and Contractor management, but am finding it incredibly difficult to know what to put under each heading for each policy. How do you make that fit a first aid policy, a manual handling policy etc. I admit I've never worked for an organization that had ISO 45001 standard and as I'm creating the policies from scratch it's doubly difficult. I have a copy of the 45001 standard itself and I understand the principles but translating that to a living, breathing, workable policy for people within the organization to use is proving fruitless and I'm getting frustrated.

I've asked multiple questions of my boss on various sections but have simply been told to 'follow the standard' and I feel I'm now just coming across as incompetent.

Help please?
andybz
Snr Member
Snr Member

Re: Writing policies to ISO 45001 standard

Post by andybz »