Propane Health and Safety

Post all your health and safety law questions in here, whether it's case law, general law, individual Acts or Regulations you are challenged with, we are all here to help.

Moderator: Moderators

Chris2k121

Propane Health and Safety

Post by Chris2k121 »

Hi guys. I'm looking for advice on the legal requirements for handling propane in the workplace.

I work in a warehouse which uses forklift trucks 27/4. These trucks are powered with propane canisters which need to be fitted by hand.

Last week, while changing one of these canisters, there was a leak around the nozzle of the canister which was not fully sealed, propane started spraying uncontrollably from the nozzle. Now, this may sound stupid to some of you, but I had no clue just how dangerous propane is (I do now due to the injuries I sustained). Myself and the guys I work with have never had any training whatsoever on handling propane, the dangers etc the only training we received was 2 minutes on how to change out the canister. We also do not have any protective equipment apart from some old goggles that just appeared one day.

Anyway, after turning the canister tap both ways and the propane still pouring out, I stuck my hand in under the spraying propane and turned the nozzle (obviously I would not do this now after I've learned first hand what propane can do to you).

So my question is what are the requirements? Surely there must be a law that states I need training on this dangerous substance I'm using. There must also be some kind of PPE requirements?

I've been in contact with my manager and informed him that I won't be changing any bottles until we get the appropriate PPE and training, his response was “We'll look into it” which generally means they'll carry on and pretend it never happened. I want something I can shove in his face and demand he gets it sorted as it seems at the moment nothing will be done about it.

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks
Macca86
Snr Member