Evening!

Introduce yourself in here if you like :wave:

Moderator: Moderators

Johnlh

Evening!

Post by Johnlh »

Hello,

I’m new to the forum (obviously) and just looking for advice in relation to a career change.

I’m currently a serving police officer in the Met (12 years). I’ve worked in various departments over the years so have a sound knowledge of investigations and prosecutions. At the moment I work in a frontline firearms role. Prior to joining the police I spent 4 years as an apprentice electrician so have site experience as well.

I’m interested in completing the NCRQ certificate initially as it will work better around my current role and the learning style appeals to me.

My main concern is trying to find a job with a lack of hands on experience. In my daily job I’m always conducting dynamic risk assessments, however, I appreciate it’s not the same as putting it on paper.

I’m trained in all sorts, such as:

CBRN initial responder
Acid attacks
Advanced/ballistic first aid
Manual handling
Interviewing/investigations
Etc etc blah blah

Do you think these skills are transferable into the H&S industry? I’ve read a few threads from people struggling to find jobs with qualifications coming out of their ears so my main concern is starting on this path with no real prospect of getting a job at the end of it.

Thanks in advance

John
Alexis
Official HSfB Legend
Official HSfB Legend
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AlexisHSfB

Re: Evening!

Post by Alexis »

Good Evening and welcome to HSfB John. :wave:

In reply to your question
Johnlh wrote: Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:29 pm Do you think these skills are transferable into the H&S industry?

I’ve read a few threads from people struggling to find jobs with qualifications coming out of their ears so my main concern is starting on this path with no real prospect of getting a job at the end of it.