Mentor advice

Discuss all things health and safety.

Moderator: Moderators

Southeast15

Mentor advice

Post by Southeast15 »

Hi All :wave:

I’m hoping some of you may be able to help with a recent predicament. It may also help some others in a similar position to me.

I’m fairly new to a career in H&S but am really enjoying it so far. Now I have more experience I seem to be facing a situation that I’m not sure how to deal with but I’m hoping the experience on here can help.

I visit a number of premises regularly throughout the month, all at least twice to see how they are complying with company procedures/legislation.

The more experience I get, the more I find and I’m now leaving sites with long lists of non conformaties that they either aren’t or don’t have time between visits to close out.

I just feel like a policeman and the sites are resenting my visits .scratch I’m not sure how to turn this around into a more positive experience for me and them. The actions aren’t things I can close out myself easily without just taking off their hands and doing for them or I don’t have the knowledge to close out :?

I’m sure I’m not the first or the last person to come across this and any advice would be great.

Thanks in advance :wave: ./thumbsup..
joaorosa80
Jnr Member
Jnr Member

Re: Mentor advice

Post by joaorosa80 »

Are you briefing with the site manager before you leave?
There is no point to leave 100 NC if nothing happens.
Manage a reasonable target with the site manager and try to engage them in HS.
You can also share the HS supervision with them.
Southeast15

Post by Southeast15 »

Thanks for the reply. :)
I always walk with two people from the premises so they know what I’m looking at and why it’s an action. I’d hoped it would help build relationships.