We've rebooted our Facebook Group. If groups are your thing, join up and let's make it as amazing and friendly as our forums!

Click here for HSfB's Facebook Group Image

First Day in a New Company

Discuss all things health and safety.

Moderator: Moderators

Madness
Student
Student

First Day in a New Company

Post by Madness » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:32 am

Hi All,

I have recently been offered a new job as health and safety officer. I am currently a health and safety officer but have been at the company for 14 years, starting from the shop floor and working up. I started my current job when i was 18 so it is really the only place i have worked (besides a couple of part time shelf stacker jobs when i was younger) so i am a little nervous.

I was looking for any advice you could give or directions you could point me to in regards to what would be your first priorities when starting a new job in this role.

In no particular order i was thinking along the lines of:

Read current policies and procedures
Review risk assessments
View accident stats/Near Misses/Investigations
Minutes from previous health and safety meetings
Current goals and objectives from company (found these briefly in the interviews)
View SSOW
Tool box talk register
Talk to staff/operators

The business is an automotive parts manufacturer if that helps at all, my background is in double glazing manufacturing.

Apologies if this is a newbieish style question but any advice input or criticism would be massively appreciated.

(i did try a search on the boards for "first day, New Job etc" but it came back blank.

Thank you

PaddyT
Snr Member
Snr Member
Industry Sector: Warehousing

Re: First Day in a New Company

Post by PaddyT » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:44 am

Hi Madness,

You seem to have a pretty comprehensive list that'll keep you going for a while there.

For me one of the first priorities is getting the operators on side.