Discuss all things health and safety.

Moderator: Moderators

beerinmyboots
Snr Member
Snr Member

Help :-(

Post by beerinmyboots »

Hi All

I am a newbie and am totally bemused by my coursework. I have to give an example of 'attitude' and try as I might, my brain won't let me.

Can anyone please help a damsel in distress?

.scratch
Carol
safety1st

Bad or Good?

Post by safety1st »

Please define context......Good or Bad? In relation to what....
beerinmyboots
Snr Member
Snr Member

Post by beerinmyboots »

Thanks for the response.

The question reads as follows :-

a)Explain, using examples, the meaning of 'attitude'
Carol
safety1st

Post by safety1st »

Hope this informs somewhat, get a cup of tea and a fag first though...

Rules are broken for many reasons. Some rules are broken to meet production deadlines. Others are broken primarily for the benefit of the individual. Violations are rarely associated with wilful acts of sabotage or vandalism, they are more likely to be the result of a negative attitude.
The factors that influence the likelihood of violations can be considered in terms of:
1. Direct motivators
2. Behaviour modifiers.
The direct motivators form the underlying motives for an individual, or group, consciously deciding to break a rule.
Although not motives in themselves, the behaviour modifiers influence the likelihood of violation. Behaviour modifiers can be both positive and negative.