H&S Law - Does it apply?

Discuss all things health and safety.

Moderator: Moderators

• Advertisement

Health, Environment and Risk Training - for all your NEBOSH, IOSH and in-house training. Contact us for excellent consultancy rates

H&S Law - Does it apply?

Postby mattgriffin » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:11 pm

Hello all, this is my first visit to the forum and my first post.

I'm a member of a professional association that is managed entirely by its members, all of whom do so voluntarily.

The association is pan-European with national groups in 20+ countries, including the UK.

Firstly, does health and safety law apply in these circumstances? Although we don't have an office as such, our regional groups meet throughout the UK at various venues. The AGM and National Training Day often attract in excess of 60 members. I've always assumed that it's the responsibility of the hosting venue to ensure health and safety, risk assessing etc. but am wondering if it would be considered good practice for us to undertake our own risk assessments and have our own health and safety management system.

The other consideration is that the association is registered in France. With this in mind, some of our activities (e.g. web page publishing etc.) have to conform with French by-law. How does this affect our health and safety requirements, if at all?

Many thanks in advance.

Matt
Last edited by mattgriffin on Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mattgriffin

Industry Sector: Education

Advertisement

Re: H&S Law - Does it apply?

Postby jonsi » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:20 pm

HSE Website says "Health and safety legislation applies to all businesses, including third sector employers such as voluntary organisations, charities, social enterprises and not for profit businesses. All these employers have the same health and safety duties as any private sector employer in the same circumstances."